top of page

The Ultraviolent Measuring Stick

It may not be the most glamorous or sought-after role within the company, but I take great pride in my inherited position as the "ultraviolent measuring stick" in CZW, against which outsiders vying for a roster spot and wrestlers looking to cross the threshold into the deathmatch realm are tested. AR Fox, Alex Colon, and RSP have all been sent my way recently with something to prove...whether to themselves, the fans, or to management...and while the matches have provided me with varying levels of success, I'm proud of the part I played in each one of these encounters. I spent several painful years carving out a reputation within this violent niche of the pro wrestling industry, and while I have neither fame nor fortune to show for it, I do have the hard-earned respect of my peers (at least, I think so...); it isn't quite a fleet of yachts or a private island, but I treasure it, nevertheless. I'm past my prime (such as it was), but this is the most fun part of my wrestling career. I get to work with guys I believe in and am impressed by, and help them to get wherever they want to go by giving them the chance to prove themselves against the reputation I went through hell to secure. A few short years ago, a quiet, humble kid with an aspiration to be a deathmatch star came across my path, and I was tasked with "seeing what he was made of;" I did so and he impressed me, so I petitioned for him to get a shot in CZW. Earlier tonight, that same man won his 2nd Cage of Death match to retain the CZW world title. I've come to think of him as family, and I'm proud not just of him, but of getting to play some small part in helping him to pursue his goals (however ill-advised). These are the things that I get the most satisfaction from out of my pro wrestling experiences...not the belts, trophies, or big victories...but helping people in whom I see a kindred spirit or a similar fire that reminds me of when I was new, eager, and determined. That description applies more to guys like Wrench and Tremont than the three I mentioned earlier...Rickey is a dude who is tremendously underrated and is one of those guys who fits the CZW style so perfectly, and just needed the chance to show everyone...Fox and Colon are two guys who are very accomplished within their individual styles, but wanted to prove that they could break out of their comfort zones and be just as competitive. I have been impressed by each of them, and when I look back over my wrestling career, I think that these matches will ultimately be the ones I'm most proud of. I don't know how much longer I'll keep at this silliness, but in the time that remains, I hope that I'm given many more opportunities like those I've just described...to work with guys who take pride in their craft and whom I want to have success in conjunction with, rather than at the expense of. Oh, and Tim Donst...also great and didn't hesitate to get crazy when we tangled in a FBTW match at AIW. Really nice fella, at that.

bottom of page